Lyttelton Harbour

Cass Bay settlement, Lyttelton

I was excited to spend my morning kayaking on the harbour, but the weather gods were against me as high winds and rain was predicted. I only had a small window of opportunity with high tide and light(ish) winds available first thing, which made for a very early start to my morning

In my excitement to get underway I, a) forget my safely gear in the chance of a capsize, and b) forget to unfasten my rudder. This of course just added to my excitement – aka adrenaline.

I’m not a particularly experienced kayaker, and would unlikely to be able to successfully Eskimo-roll if I needed to – I did this once in a pool as a teenager – which makes kayaking in even the most remotely unsavoury conditions an adrenaline sport for me!

Despite my concerns I relaxed into it (once I fixed the rudder issue) and enjoyed the moody morning light and cloud shrouded hills behind Lyttelton. An hour later the chop of the out going tide against the incoming wind – that was getting increasingly gusty – sent me reluctantly back to shore.

The boat got swapped for shoes and bike and I went for a bit of an explore along the bays around Governor’s Bay. I found an interesting cave set up for a banquet, but otherwise with the overcast conditions, wind and lots of uninspiring mudflats I decided to call it a day.

The rain started and the van napping began.

About Juliet Jones

Beauty is everywhere, if you but open your eyes
This entry was posted in Canterbury, Kayaking, Travel Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lyttelton Harbour

  1. Carolyn says:

    Risktaker!!

Leave a comment